Hyväksy evästeet

Naxosdirect.fi käyttää evästeitä. Jatkamalla hyväksyt evästeiden käytön. Päivitetyn tietosuojakäytäntömme voit lukea täältä.
Hyväksy evästeet

Santore, Jonathan - There Are Many Other Legends - New Hampshire Master Chorale

Lisää tuote muistilistalle + 19,95 € - Lopetettu

Both the New Hampshire Master Chorale and the Manchester Choral Society elevate the works of composer-in-residence Jonathan Santore on THERE ARE MANY OTHER LEGENDS, an expansive collection of works from Santore’s choral catalog. Each piece highlights the composer’s impressive command of choral writing and the ensemble’s traditions. Through their texts and other premises, several works on THERE ARE MANY OTHER LEGENDS are referential pieces, some alluding to other works of vocal music while others recall the mythology of distant cultures. Requiem: Learning to Fall, a work which is both internally and externally referential, yielding a compelling, multi-layered musical text. The composition demonstrates Santore’s command of vocal texture and ability to add character to the choir’s text through instrumental accompaniments. At the heart of Requiem is the cyclical recurrence of multiple musical and textual ideas, including the ancient “dies irae” Gregorian Chant and various musical cues of Santore’s creation. The most important of these is his setting of the word “alleluia,” which opens the work and returns multiple times as a positive counterbalance to the darker, more dissonant instrumental representations of the “dies irae” chant. Requiem and Forgetting are the album’s only two pieces containing orchestral arrangements, featuring the New Hampshire-based Manchester Choral Society and Orchestra. However, several of the pieces on THERE ARE MANY OTHER LEGENDS are written for both choir and additional instrumentation, including strings, piano, and soprano saxophone. While choral music is the focus of this album, Santore’s instrumental writing and orchestration for heterogeneous ensembles should not be overlooked. For example, Santore’s three-movement work O Sweet Spontaneous Earth evocatively pits the choir against a string trio as it conveys its transformative musical and textual form. In this way, O Sweet Spontaneous Earth stands alongside Requiem as the album’s most structurally nuanced and narratively cogent works. HIGHLIGHTS Jonathan Santore teaches Music Theory and Composition at Plymouth State University in New Hampshire, where he previously served as chair of the Department of Music, Theatre, and Dance. Santore has received numerous awards, including The American Prize in 2013, two New Hampshire Composer of the Year awards and an Individual Artist Fellowship from the New Hampshire State Council of the Arts, being one of only six recipients from an applicant pool of 90 professional artists. Founded in 2003 by conductor Dan Perkins, the New Hampshire Master Chorale is a non-profit choir comprised of New England singers with international performance experience. The chamber ensemble commissions and premieres works by New Hampshire composers. Perkins is also Music Director of the Manchester Choral Society, a non-profit choir established in 1961 which he describes as a “magnet for serious singers” New Hampshire Magazine awarded the Master Chorale with its “Best in NH 2008 – Musical History Program” award, citing Santore’s setting of “texts from New Hampshire [history] to compose music, creating a unique blend of Granite State history, music and art.”
Tuotenumero NV6086
Viivakoodi 0896931003865
Julkaisupäivä 10.3.2017
Kategoria Klassinen
Levymerkki Navona
Formaatti CD
Tuotteiden lukumäärä 1
Artistit New Hampshire Master Chorale
Manchester Choral Society
Säveltäjät Santore, Jonathan
Levy: 1
1 Walden Recessional
2 The Return (Armistice Poems)
3 The Return (Armistice Poems)
4 The Return (Armistice Poems)
5 Kalevala Fragments
6 Eight Gypsy Songs After Brahms
7 Eight Gypsy Songs After Brahms
8 Eight Gypsy Songs After Brahms
9 Eight Gypsy Songs After Brahms
10 Eight Gypsy Songs After Brahms
11 Eight Gypsy Songs After Brahms
12 Eight Gypsy Songs After Brahms
13 Eight Gypsy Songs After Brahms
14 Love Always!
15 O Sweet Spontaneous Earth
16 O Sweet Spontaneous Earth
17 O Sweet Spontaneous Earth
18 Requiem: Learning to Fall: Part One
19 Requiem: Learning to Fall: Part One
20 Requiem: Learning to Fall: Part One
21 Requiem: Learning to Fall: Part One
22 Requiem: Learning to Fall: Part One
23 Requiem: Learning to Fall: Part One
24 Requiem: Learning to Fall: Part One
25 Requiem: Learning to Fall: Part Two
26 Requiem: Learning to Fall: Part Two
27 Requiem: Learning to Fall: Part Two
28 Requiem: Learning to Fall: Part Two
29 Requiem: Learning to Fall: Part Two
30 Forgetting
Kirjoita arviosi
Kirjaudu sisään kirjoittaaksesi arvion
Jos pidät There Are Many Other Legends, kerro siitä myös ystävillesi! Voit jakaa tämän sivun helposti Facebookissa ja sähköpostissa alapuolella olevasta valikosta.


19,95 €
Raillard, Georges - Butterflies in the Labyrinth of Silence - Ross, David William
19,95 €
Perkins, Scott - The Stolen Child - Audivi
19,95 €
The Road of Promise - MasterVoices
19,95 €
Sursum - Yarn/Wire
Various - Early Musings: New Music for Violin - Various NV6063 18.11.2016 19,95 €
Regan, Marty - The Music of Marty Regan Vol. 1: Splash of Indigo - Trio Xia NV6064 18.11.2016 19,95 €
Pieces de Concours: Virtuosic Romantic Works by French Composers 1896-1938 - Puchhammer-Sédillot, Jutta NV6065 18.11.2016 19,95 €
Mi Palpita il Cor: Baroque Passions NV6056 14.10.2016 19,95 €
Let Me Fly NV6060 14.10.2016 19,95 €
Cadence - Bird, Jennifer NV6061 14.10.2016 19,95 €
Image Image Image Image Image
Oma tili
Oma ostoskori: 0 tuotteet