Various - The Contrast - English Poetry in Song - Sampson, Carolyn

Toimitusaika: Noin 7 - 14 arkipäivää
Song composition has been a constant in British music since the lute and consort works of the early seventeenth century. By 1900, it had developed into a sophisticated genre embraced by almost all serious composers. The music on this amply-filled disc illustrates the diversity of British song-writing and its transformation over a century: from Vaughan Williams’s Orpheus and his Lute (ca 1901) to Huw Watkins’s Five Larkin Songs, composed in 2010 for Carolyn Sampson, who performs them here. Together with Joseph Middleton, her partner on several acclaimed recital discs, she has devised a highly contrasting programme bookended by two groups of songs by William Walton – A Song for the Lord Mayor's Table from 1962, celebrating the diversity of London, and three songs from Façade, the ‘entertainment’ with which the young composer gained both fame and notoriety in 1923.These frame settings by Ralph Vaughan Williams, Roger Quilter and Frank Bridge of poetry by writers from Shakespeare and Shelley to Keats and Yeats. In comparison, the anti-romantic poems by Philip Larkin have been described as marked by ‘a very English, glum accuracy’. Huw Watkins (b. 1976) has selected texts from across Larkin’s output, catching the various moods – ranging from a certain unsentimental nostalgia to the poet’s seemingly habitual pessimism – in settings that often carry a bittersweet sting in the tail.
Tuotenumero BIS2413
Viivakoodi 7318599924137
Julkaisupäivä 7.2.2020
Kategoria Klassinen
Levymerkki BIS
Formaatti Hybrid SACD
Tuotteiden lukumäärä 1
Artistit Sampson, Carolyn
Middleton, Joseph
Säveltäjät Various
Levy: 1
A Song for the Lord Mayor's Table
1 The Lord Mayor's Table
2 Glide gently
3 Wapping Old Stairs
4 Holy Thursday
5 The Contrast
6 Rhyme
7 Orpheus with his lute
8 The sky above the roof
9 Silent Noon
10 Go not, happy day
11 When most I wink
12 Adoration
13 Come to me in my dreams
14 When you are old
15 Mantle of Blue
16 Love went a-riding
A Song for the Lord Mayor's Table
17 Who called love conquering
18 Wants
19 Love Songs in Age
20 Money
21 Dawn
22 Dream Valley, Op. 20 No. 1
23 Fair House of Joy, Op. 12 No. 7
24 By a Fountainside, Op. 12 No. 6
25 Arab Love Song
26 Autumn Evening, Op. 14 No. 1
27 My Life's Delight, Op. 12 No. 2
A Song for the Lord Mayor's Table
28 Daphne
29 Through gilded trellises
30 Old Sir Faulk
Kirjoita arviosi
Kirjaudu sisään kirjoittaaksesi arvion
Jos pidät The Contrast - English Poetry in Song, kerro siitä myös ystävillesi! Voit jakaa tämän sivun helposti Facebookissa ja sähköpostissa alapuolella olevasta valikosta.


19,95 €
Schumann, Clara - Album für die Frau - Sampson, Carolyn
19,95 €
Sampson, Carolyn - Reason in Madness - Various
19,95 €
Lost is my Quiet – Duets and solo songs - Sampson, Carolyn - Various
19,95 €
Various - Nordic Solo Flute Music - Bahr, Gunilla von (flute)
Various - Contemporary Danish Music for Orchestra, Volume 1 - Danish National Symphony Orchestra BIS079 16.4.2005 19,95 €
Various - Music for French Horn BIS047 16.4.2005 19,95 €
Various - French Organ Music - Fagius, Hans BIS007 16.4.2005 19,95 €
Muutamia jäljellä Osta +
Various - Flute & Harp - Aitken, Robert BIS143 16.4.2005 19,95 €
Muutamia jäljellä Osta +
Various - Symphonic Organ Music 2 - Organ Music by Famous Composers - Ericsson, Hans-Ola (organ) BIS1102 6.3.2001 19,95 €
Various - Romantic Swedish Organ - Fagius, Hans (organ) BIS191 25.12.1986 19,95 €
Muutamia jäljellä Osta +
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Oma tili
Oma ostoskori: 0 tuotteet