Hyväksy evästeet

Naxosdirect.fi käyttää evästeitä. Jatkamalla hyväksyt evästeiden käytön. Päivitetyn tietosuojakäytäntömme voit lukea täältä.
Hyväksy evästeet

Alwyn, William - Miss Julie (2CD) - Patalong, Anna

Toimitusaika: Noin 7 - 14 arkipäivää
‘Why has this intense, brilliantly orchestrated, claustrophobically gripping masterpiece been so neglected since its 1977 premiere?’ asked Richard Morrison in The Times of the concert performance in the Barbican that preceded this recording. Miss Julie is Alwyn’s last large-scale work, written in 1973-76. Alwyn set his own libretto, based on Strindberg’s 1888 play of that title. The naturalistic drama and lifelike characters of that play appealed to Alwyn from an early age – in fact, he previously attempted to compose an opera on Miss Julie in the 1950s. That attempt failed, because of differences with his then librettist, Christopher Hassall. Alwyn believed that in opera, the action should be self-explanatory, arias should serve a dramatic purpose (as opposed to sheer vocal display), characters should sing to each other and not to the audience, ensembles should be minimized and the text should be set to vocal lines that reflect natural speech patterns. These views were distilled over his extensive career as a film composer, which taught him that music could do more than establish characterization, suggest mood, and heighten atmosphere: in some cases it could also communicate the unspoken thoughts of an onscreen character even when these were at odds with what he or she was presenting visually. Sakari Oramo and the BBC Symphony Orchestra support an outstanding cast featuring Anna Patalong in the title role in this acclaimed revival of Alwyn’s neglected masterpiece.
Tuotenumero CHSA5253
Viivakoodi 0095115525326
Julkaisupäivä 3.7.2020
Kategoria Klassinen
Levymerkki Chandos
Formaatti Hybrid SACD
Tuotteiden lukumäärä 2
Artistit Patalong, Anna
Aldridge, Rosie
Sakker, Samuel
Nelson, Benedict
Kapellimestarit Oramo, Sakari
Orchestras BBC Symphony Orchestra
Säveltäjät Alwyn, William
Levy: 1
Act 1, Scene 2
1 Allegro - Valse tempo -
2 Jean: 'Miss Julie is crazy!'
3 Kristin: 'But the Count?'
4 Jean: 'By God, I'm thirsty!'
5 Miss Julie: 'Kristin! Kristin!'
6 Jean: 'Well, I've travelled around...'
7 Miss Julie: 'There's a new dance starting.'
8 Miss Julie: 'You know why I cam here tonight?'
9 Miss Julie: 'Midsummer night, O night of magic...'
10 Kristin: 'I'm ready, Jean.'
Act 1, Scene 2
11 Andante sostenuto -
12 Jean: 'Kristin! Kristin!'
13 Miss Julie: 'Now you can kiss my hand.'
14 Jean: 'That wouldn't do either.'
15 Jean: 'I have no time for dreams...'
16 Miss Julie: 'Would you like me to dance...'
17 Jean: 'Playing with fire...'
18 Jean: 'You don't know what it is to be poor.'
19 Miss Julie: 'But you can rise, Jean...'
20 Ulrik: 'A lady went a roaming...'
21 Ulrik: 'She's the Queen of the Dance...'
22 Jean: 'You can come out now.'
23 Jean: 'I know, I know...'
24 Jean: 'I can't!'
Levy: 2
Act 2
1 Lento -
2 Jean: 'Never again.'
3 Jean: 'Now don't lose your head.'
4 Miss Julie: 'Scum on the surface of water.'
5 Miss Julie: If you want me again...'
6 Jean: 'If I only had enough money.'
7 Miss Julie: 'You sound so cruel, Jean.'
8 Allegro precipitoso -
9 Kristin: 'Has she gone?'
10 Kristin: 'Whatever you say...'
11 Kristin: 'Class is class and don't you forget it.'
12 Kristin: 'We'll get married.'
13 Ulrik: 'A pretty domestic scene!'
14 Kristin: 'I knew I was right!'
15 Kristin: 'There's someone upstairs.'
16 Miss Julie: 'I'm ready now, Jean.'
17 Jean: 'What the devil is that?'
18 Miss Julie: 'He's killed her! Killed her!'
19 Kristin: 'You're mad! You're both mad!'
20 Kristin: 'Well, Well! So you're going to elope?'
21 Jean: 'The Count's back.'
22 Jean: 'You can go but I can't.'
23 Miss Julie: 'I must be dreaming.'
24 Miss Julie: 'Kiss me... Before I go!'
Kirjoita arviosi
Kirjaudu sisään kirjoittaaksesi arvion
Jos pidät Miss Julie (2CD), kerro siitä myös ystävillesi! Voit jakaa tämän sivun helposti Facebookissa ja sähköpostissa alapuolella olevasta valikosta.


19,95 €
Smyth, Ethel - Mass in D - Oramo, Sakari
19,95 €
Sibelius, Jean - Lemminkäinen Suite; Spring Song; Suite from Belshazzar's Feast - Oramo, Sakari
19,95 €
Schmitt, Florent - Symphony No.2; Suites from Antoine et Cleopatre - Oramo, Sakari
19,95 €
Alwyn, William - Film Music Vol 2 - Gamba, Rumon
Gerhard, Roberto - Symphony No. 3 (Collages) / Piano Concerto - Bamert, Matthias CHAN9556 1.9.2006 19,95 €
Muutamia jäljellä Osta +
Howells, Herbert - PIANO CONCERTO Nos. 1 & 2 / PENGUINSKI - Hickox, Richard CHAN9874 1.9.2006 19,95 €
Muutamia jäljellä Osta +
Alwyn, William - Complete Symphonies (3 CD) - Hickox, Richard CHAN9429 1.9.2006 59,95 €
Muutamia jäljellä Osta +
Bernstein, Leonard - Kaddish / Chichester Psalms / Missa brevis - Slatkin, Leonard CHSA5028 1.9.2006 19,95 €
Muutamia jäljellä Osta +
Gerhard, Roberto - Symphony No. 1 / Violin Concerto - Bamert, Matthias CHAN9599 1.9.2006 19,95 €
Bach, J S - Conductor's Transcriptions - Slatkin, Leonard CHSA5030 1.9.2006 19,95 €
Muutamia jäljellä Osta +
Image Image Image
Oma tili
Oma ostoskori: 0 tuotteet