Beeler, Alan - Forever Beeler

Lisää tuote muistilistalle + 15,96 € (19,95 €) - Lopetettu

FOREVER BEELER represents a sampling of composer Alan Beeler’s prolific output throughout his musical career, which is generally defined by his commitment to compositional craft and structural clarity. The works featured on this album also reveal a playfulness lying just under the surface of Beeler’s compositional perspective. This quality of Beeler’s music is most notable in the seven sonatas for piano, often accompanied by another instrument, included in FOREVER BEELER. Here, Beeler crafts engaging conversations between the players at his disposal – he employs a great deal of imitative writing and a more roaming style than in the more concise works on this album. A particularly clear example of Beeler’s fluid sense of style occurs in the second movement of his Sonata for Clarinet and Piano, which is dominated by a subtle “swing” characteristic as well as the “cakewalk rhythm” popular in early twentieth century ragtime music. One of the most deeply intriguing works in FOREVER BEELER is the Three Early Pieces for Piano, which ranks among the first music Beeler formally composed and published. These short pieces exemplify the directness of Beeler’s compositional voice, as they clearly develop and resolve a singular musical idea. In addition to being succinct, finely crafted piano miniatures, they stand as evidence to this album’s unique offerings to listeners. It is extremely rare to have this kind of longitudinal representation of a composer’s career available in an individual recording. The collection is even more valuable because, despite his indomitable and specific approach to composition, Beeler’s oeuvre is filled with nuance, all of which stands out in FOREVER BEELER. This album is also marked by the way it testifies to the creative conditions of the mid-twentieth century, when Beeler emerged as a composer. The many aforementioned sonatas featured on FOREVER BEELER, for example, suggest the composer’s abiding interest in the forms and styles of the eighteenth and nineteenth century. Yet, piano works like the Twelve-Tone Quartal Etude indicate Beeler was not only subject to a variety of stylistic influences, but also extremely skilled in fulfilling their aesthetic mandates. HIGHLIGHTS Beeler’s compositional voice is generally consistent, but departs from its mainstream in specific and notable ways Beeler shines in the clarity of his musical materials – his works excel at conveying the significance of their particulars parameters (i.e. melodies, rhythms, textures) to their overall structures The album compiles the remainder of Beeler’s previously unrecorded works, serving as a memorial to the late composer Beeler taught music theory, composition, and oboe at Washington University and Eastern Kentucky University, where he was Professor of Music Theory and Composition. His many compositions include works for solo piano, chorus, chamber ensemble, string orchestra, full orchestra, and voice
Tuotenumero NV6085
Viivakoodi 0896931003858
Julkaisupäivä 10.3.2017
Kategoria Klassinen
Levymerkki Navona
Formaatti CD
Tuotteiden lukumäärä 1
Säveltäjät Beeler, Alan
Levy: 1
1 Sonata For Clarinet & Piano
2 Sonata For Clarinet & Piano
3 Sonata For Clarinet & Piano
4 Something More Cheerful Suite
5 Something More Cheerful Suite
6 Something More Cheerful Suite
7 Something More Cheerful Suite
8 Something More Cheerful Suite
9 Flute & Piano Sonata
10 Flute & Piano Sonata
11 Flute & Piano Sonata
12 My Identity Suite
13 My Identity Suite
14 My Identity Suite
15 English Horn Sonata
16 English Horn Sonata
17 English Horn Sonata
18 Multi-tonal Suite
19 Multi-tonal Suite
20 Multi-tonal Suite
21 Multi-tonal Suite
22 Multi-tonal Suite
23 Multi-tonal Suite
24 Multi-tonal Suite
25 Multi-tonal Suite
26 Oboe Sonata
27 Oboe Sonata
28 Oboe Sonata
29 Early Pieces for Solo Piano
30 Early Pieces for Solo Piano
31 Early Pieces for Solo Piano
32 Sonata De Camera
33 Sonata De Camera
34 Sonata De Camera
35 Beeler's Fit '06
36 Sonatas for Bass Trombone and Piano
37 Sonatas for Bass Trombone and Piano
38 Sonatas for Bass Trombone and Piano
39 Piano Sonata
40 Piano Sonata
41 Piano Sonata
42 Piano Sonata
43 The Octatonic Tuba-Sonata for Tuba and Piano
44 The Octatonic Tuba-Sonata for Tuba and Piano
45 The Octatonic Tuba-Sonata for Tuba and Piano
46 The Octatonic Tuba-Sonata for Tuba and Piano
47 12-Tone Quartal Etude
Kirjoita arviosi
Kirjaudu sisään kirjoittaaksesi arvion
Jos pidät Forever Beeler, kerro siitä myös ystävillesi! Voit jakaa tämän sivun helposti Facebookissa ja sähköpostissa alapuolella olevasta valikosta.


15,96 € (19,95 €)
Raillard, Georges - Butterflies in the Labyrinth of Silence - Ross, David William
15,96 € (19,95 €)
Perkins, Scott - The Stolen Child - Audivi
15,96 € (19,95 €)
The Road of Promise - MasterVoices
15,96 € (19,95 €)
Sursum - Yarn/Wire
Various - Early Musings: New Music for Violin - Various NV6063 18.11.2016 15,96 € (19,95 €)
Regan, Marty - The Music of Marty Regan Vol. 1: Splash of Indigo - Trio Xia NV6064 18.11.2016 15,96 € (19,95 €)
Pieces de Concours: Virtuosic Romantic Works by French Composers 1896-1938 - Puchhammer-Sédillot, Jutta NV6065 18.11.2016 15,96 € (19,95 €)
Mi Palpita il Cor: Baroque Passions NV6056 14.10.2016 15,96 € (19,95 €)
Let Me Fly NV6060 14.10.2016 15,96 € (19,95 €)
Cadence - Bird, Jennifer NV6061 14.10.2016 15,96 € (19,95 €)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Oma tili
Oma ostoskori: 0 tuotteet